The American Academy in Rome has announced their 2024-25 prize winners in literature.

James Folta

April 25, 2024, 12:00pm

Out of over a thousand entrants, The American Academy in Rome has selected 31 artists and academics to receive their Rome Prize, a residency fellowship that provides a stipend as well as a place to live and work on the Academy’s campus in Rome. The prize is awarded to practitioners in 11 fields: ancient studies, architecture, design, historic preservation and conservation, landscape architecture, medieval studies, modern Italian studies, music composition, Renaissance and early modern studies, visual art, and literature.

This year’s Rome Prize winners in Literature are Selby Wynn Schwartz and Jacob Shores-Argüello.

The American Academy of Rome has been a haven for research and art since 1894, and past winners of their prestigious prize have also been awarded Pulitzers, Grammys, Poet Laureate appointments, and Nobels. Past winners in literature, who have lived and worked on the Rome campus, include Elif Batuman, Ralph Ellison, Anthony Doerr, Alexandra Kleeman, and Robert Penn Warren.

Check out a full list of this year’s winners, here.

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top